In the 1960s, individuals discharged from psychiatric hospitals, who were not ready to live on their own, had no place to go. The Mental Health Association (MHA) of Rochester, headed by Hilton Hedrick, developed a plan that would provide supported housing options for individuals with persistent mental illness in the community. As a result of the MHA plan, East House was founded. The founding board members, led by Paul Wolk and Hettie Shumway, championed East House to become incorporated as a non-profit organization. East House was founded by The Honorable David O. Boehm, Ralph T. Collins, M.D., Hilton Hedrick, Hettie L. Shumway, James Sterner, M.D., and Paul Wolk.

In 1966, with the additional support of local foundations and private donations, Dorothea Brayer was hired as East House’s first executive director. That year, with three employees and an annual budget of $39,000, East House became the first halfway house in New York State and one of the pioneer programs in the country for individuals recovering from mental illness.

Since 1966, East House has been on the cutting edge of providing recovery services and programs to individuals in recovery from mental illness and substance use disorders. To see the full East House Chronology, Click Here.

Ways To Give

Support East House and Move Lives Forward.

Donations and grants are important to maintain our quality of services, staff and facilities.
Your donation goes directly where it is needed – to programs, services and client care.

For more information of ways to give, please contact

Board of Directors & Leadership

-Board Officers-

Patty Phillips • Chair • Clarity Recruiting and Career Management, Inc.

George Nasra, MD, MBA • Vice Chair • University of Rochester Medical Center

Kwasi Boaitey, LMSW, SAP,PCC, RYT, CPT • Secretary • Upper Level Fitness

John Leary • Treasurer • Community Volunteer

Kim Brumber • President & CEO • East House

-Board Members-

Marcus Burrell, MD • BPSE Behavioral & Educational Solutions

Eric Daniels • Manning & Napier

Bret Garwood • Home Leasing

Kelly Glover • Center for Governmental Research

Deron E. Johnson, MBA • Paychex, Inc

Jane Knickerbocker • University of Rochester

Daniele Lyman-Torres • City of Rochester

Donna Maxwell  • Benefit Resource LLC

Roger O’Brien • O’Brien Associates LLC

Hezekiah Simmons • Monroe Community College

Dawn Sullivan • Roberts Wesleyan College

– East House Executive Leadership Team –

Lisa Daly • Vice President of Human Resources

Beth Hershel • Vice President of Development and Community Relations

Elizabeth McGrath • Director of Strategic Initiatives 

Scott Moquin • Vice President of Corporate Compliance and Risk Management

Nia Jones • Interim Vice President of Programs